Throwback Art: Strings

Screen Shot 2017-08-06 at 10.25.43 PMI created this piece the end of my first semester of art school. The assignment was to create a monochromatic painting using only tints and shades of the color of your choice. To come up with the painting, you had to listen to a piece of music that inspired you.

In my case it was the Vitamin String Quartet’s (VSQ) rendition of “Hello” (originally sung by Evanescence). I’m a big fan of Amy Lee. I love her hauntingly powerful voice. I spent over twelve years of my life playing in my high school’s orchestra. Over the years, I grew fond of neo-classical music. David Garrett, Miri Ben-Ari, Apocalyptica… I admire these artists because they bent the rules to create great pieces for the new century. Using this piece was perfect for me.

When I listened to VSQ’s “Hello” as I created this piece, I imagined a soft light, trying to find its way out of the darkness, but these dark ties are trying to stop it by wrapping themselves around the light. I know, it sounds depressing, but it was college. I was still doing some soul searching at the time.

I chose to use acrylic paint because I felt that it would be the best in mixing and also its more solid form while still wet would make it easy for my many lines. In terms of completion, this took several days. The size of this painting is not very large. In fact, it was 8×8″. What I remember most about painting this was the strain it put on my eyes. Each line had to be just about perfect and there were well over 200 lines to paint extremely carefully.

I received a lot of compliments on this piece from fellow classmates and my professor like it a lot. From her that meant a lot because she was brutal in grading me on craftsmanship.

Me personally, what I liked about in creating this piece was the fact that I created an emotional depth. I wanted to create an emotional mystery for my viewers and I think that I accomplished that.

Leave a Reply

