Being a Mommy, an Artist and a Designer

12615547_10156751617575157_8692903832887594922_oBecoming a parent was one of the best days of my life, but it was not without sacrifice. I had to let go of a lot of my art supplies with sharp edges and points; to save myself the emotional strain of a tiny hand smearing through my charcoal or chalk pastel drawings, I gave up those tools. Some may argue that I should just rope of my studio space to avoid such disasters, but here’s the thing: My studio space is a corner desk in my bedroom. There is no such thing as roping off. My studio space is a fort, a hiding place, an imaginary tent and whatever else I can think of. My dog uses my studio space as a warm and comfortable space to relax. I say again: There is no such thing as roping off my studio space.

While the struggle is real, I don’t get mad about it; I make it work. Here’s the beauty in digital art: there is little mess, and there is a little thing called Command/Control+X better known as ‘undo’ to the average person. When my son wants attention, he’ll climb on to my lap and grab at my stylus for my tablet. Sometimes it’s irritating (especially when I have to meet a deadline), but most of the time, it’s cute. We’ll practice writing letters and numbers; we’ll attempt to help Mommy finish the drawing (though often times it ends in the constant use of ‘Undo’), but it’s time that I would not trade for the world. These are the special times to remember.

I won’t lie. It’s not all smiles. There are the temper tantrums, the nonstop crying fits… the late nights meeting deadlines, but at least we’ll have a lot to talk about in the coming years.

Leave a Reply

