TDK’s Artist Interview

  • How do you overcome creative blocks?
    I look into what everyone else is doing. I look at what my fellow artists are sharing on Deviant Art and get inspired.

  • What’s your favorite thing you’ve ever created?
    I drew a still life of my old violin using charcoal. I was proud of myself because I was introduced to a series of drawing techniques I had never used before.
  • Which creative medium would you love to pursue but haven’t yet?
    I would love to create comic book art and/or graphic novels. I was a big time fan of Naoko Takeuchi’s Sailor Moon Series. I also occasionally go to the library to read some of the old Teen Titan and Batman graphic novels. It’s literally an elaborate picture book. When I read them, I get sucked into the story. I hope to one day do something like that. I enjoy writing fiction.

  • What’s the best advice you ever had about how to be more creative?
    In college, my Drawing 101 and Animation 101 professors told me to loosen up because I was too stiff. I think that was the best advice I ever could have received career-wise.

  • What role does the artist have in society?
    I believe that artists are effective communicators. We can see and say things in different ways where others cannot.

  • Why art?
    I’m shy and I have a hard time expressing what I want to say. With art, I can say what I want more or less.

  • What superpower would you have and why?
    I would want the power of telekinesis. I could fly myself anywhere for free and do a lot more for myself without much help.  I could be like Jean Grey (Marvel) or Raven/ Rachel Roth (DC).
  • What memorable responses have you had to your work?
    While I appreciate the conservative responses to my artwork, I also appreciate the more avant-garde Almost a year ago, I designed a website for a company, their email to me later was: “…I’m really proud of the way it looked you have done an awesome job seriously you took a cluster beep of a mess and really made rock thank you sooo much…”

 

 

Leave a Reply

